OSTEOPATHIC MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE

The amendment format is as follows: Existing language remains unchanged; new wording is
underlined; wording proposed for deletion is identified with strikeout lines.

The Osteopathic Medical Board of California hereby amends its regulations in Division 16 of
Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows:

1) Amend CCR Section 1635 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to
read as follows:

§1635. Required Continuing Medical Education(CME).

(a) Each physician and surgeon submitting the tax and registration fee shall submit satisfactory
proof to the Board of ongoing compliance with the provisions of this article at the times
specified herein.

(b) Commencingtanuary-1,1989,a-Each physician and surgeon shall complete 356-100 hours
withina-three-yearperied during each two-year period immediately preceding the expiration
date of his or her license in order to satisfy the CME requirement; this three two-year period is

defined as the “CME requirement period.”

(c) The requirement of 458 100 hours during the three-two-year CME requirement period shall
include a minimum of 68 40 hours of CME in Category 1-A or 1-B defined by the American
Osteopathic Association (AOA). The balance of the CME requirement of 98 60 hours may
consist of CME as defined by either the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or the
American Medical Association (AMA) and may shall be completed within the entire three two-
year CME requirement period.

(d) Effectivedanuary-1; 1989; the-three-year CME period-shallcommenceforthose licensed-on
erbeforedanuary-1,1989. Those licensed subsequent to January 1, 49892018 shall commence
their three-two-year CME requirement period on-aprerata-basis-commencing-the first full
calendar year subsequent to initial licensure. Subsequent three-two-year periods shall not
include CME earned during a preceding three-two-year requirement period.

(e) Category 1-A, or other CME is defined by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), set
forth in the American Osteopathic Association’s “Continuing Medical Education Guide,” and is
hereby incorporated by reference and can be obtained from the AOA at 142 E. Ontario Street,
Chicago, IL 60611; it is published once every three years by the AOA most recently in 4992
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2016-18. CME Categery-1 defined by the American Medical Association is set forth in “The
AMA Physician's Recognition Award tafermation-Beeklet-and Credit System," and is hereby
incorporated by reference and can be obtained from the American Medical Association, 545
North-State-Street,Chicage, 60610 AMA Plaza, 330 N. Wabash Ave., Suite 39300, Chicago, IL
60611-5885; it is published on an occasional basis by the AMA, most recently in January
19862017.

(f) All physicians and surgeons shall complete a one-time mandatory 12 credit hours of CME in

the subjects of pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients as a

condition of renewal. Each physician and surgeon shall self-certify compliance with this one-

time requirement subject to audit on the renewal form. Physicians and surgeons shall

complete this requirement within four years of their initial license or by their second renewal

date, whichever occurs first.

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1;

3600-1 and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2190.5 and 2454.5 of
Business and Professions Code; Section 11425.50 (e), Government Code.

2) Amend CCR Section 1636 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to
read as follows:

§1636. Continuing Medical Education Progress Report.

Physieians-Each physician and surgeon shall report the total number of continuing medical

education (CME) hours to the Board with the renewal application. This may be accomplished
by:
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(a) Effective January 1, 2019, each physician and surgeon shall self-certify completion of the

required CME hours by submitting to the Board a completed Osteopathic Medical Board of

California Continuing Medical Education Self-Certification Form for Renewal (OMB-21, Effective

1/2019), which is hereby incorporated by reference. Physicians and surgeons submitting

incomplete forms shall be deemed ineligible for renewal.

(b) CME categories and requirements are defined by Section 1635.

(c) Effective January 1, 2019, physicians and surgeons shall be subject to audit of their CME

hours. Each physician and surgeon shall retain all documents that demonstrate compliance

with CME requirements. Documents demonstrating compliance include:

(1) A copy of their computer printout of CME activity as compiled from documents submitted to

the AOA Division of Continuing Medical Education by both sponsors and the physician and

surgeon (Individual Activity Report) which will list the amount of CME credit hours, or

(2) Copies of any certificates given for the CME credit hours of attendance at any program

approved by the Board, or

(3) Reports from any program approved by the Board, to be furnished by the physician and

surgeon, showing his or her CME credit hours of attendance as verified by the program

organizer.

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1,
3600-1 and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2452 and 2454.5 of
Business and Professions Code; Section 11425.50 (e), Government Code.

3) Amend CCR Section 1641 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to
read as follows:

§1641. Sanctions for Noncompliance.
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(a) Any physician_and surgeon who has not completed 450 100 hours of approved CME e+the
prorated-sharepursuant-to-Section1635{d}-during the three two-year CME requirement period
will be required to make up any deficiency unless a waiver is obtained pursuant to Section
1637. Any physician and surgeon who fails to complete the deficient hours shall be ineligible for
renewal of his or her license to practice medicine until such time as the deficient hours of CME
are documented to the Board.

(b) It shall constitute unprofessional conduct and grounds for disciplinary action including the
filing of an accusation; or citation and fine, for any physician and surgeon to misrepresent his or

her compliance with the provisions of this article or who fails to comply with the provisions of
this article.

(c) The Board shall randomly audit physicians and surgeons who have reported compliance with

the CME requirement. Those physicians and surgeons selected for audit shall be required to

submit documentation of their compliance with the CME requirements as specified by this

article. Each physician and surgeon shall retain records for a minimum of-feur six years of all
CME programs attended which indicate the title of the course or program attended, dates of
attendance, the length of the course or program, the sponsoring organization and the

accrediting organization, if any.

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1;
Section 3600-1 and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2454.5 and
2190.5 of Business and Professions Code; Section 11425.50 (e), Government Code.
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Osteopathic Medical Board of California

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Self-Certification Form for Renewal

To renew your license, Board regulations, set forth under Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations § 1635,
et. seq., requires you to demonstrate completion of CME courses. If you do not complete the required CME
course work during the requirement period, your license will not be eligible for renewal. If you are deficient in
your CME hours, you must first complete the deficient hours in order to renew your license. Self-Certification
Forms with missing answers, signature, and date will not be accepted for renewal. All self-certification renewal
forms are subject to audit by the Board.

Part 1.

| certify that | have completed a minimum of 100 total hours of CME that includes 40 hours of AOA Category 1-
A or 1-B and 60 hours of either AOA and AMA CME during the preceding two full calendar years renewal
cycle.* Yes No

*If you are in a residency/fellowship program, CME requirement may be waived upon certification from the
program director for the time in the residency/fellowship program.

Part 2.

As a one-time requirement, Business and Professions Code section 2190.5 requires all physicians and surgeons
complete 12 credit hours in the subjects of pain management and the treatment of terminally ill and dying
patients. This is a mandatory requirement. All physicians and surgeons shall complete this requirement within
four years of their initial licensure or by their second renewal, whichever comes first. Those who are exempt
from this requirement include physicians and surgeons who are not engaged in direct patient care, do not
provide patient consultations, or do not reside in the State of California. Physicians and surgeons practicing
pathology or radiology specialty areas are also exempt from this requirement.

| certify that | have completed the one-time requirement of 12 credit hours in pain management and the
treatment of terminally ill and dying patient pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 2190.5.
Yes No Exempt Completed in past year(s)

All statements, including those attached hereto are true and accurate. | further acknowledge that | have
read and understand the requirements pertaining to CME. | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws
of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

SIGNATURE DATE

OMB-21  Effective date 1/2019
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