
 
 

 
  

 

    
   

   
   

     
 

   

      
       

 

        
      

       
  

    
   

    
     

      
 

      
    

       
    

    

  
  

     
      

       

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 

PROPOSED REGULATORY LANGUAGE 

The amendment format is as follows: Existing language remains unchanged; new wording is 
underlined; wording proposed for deletion is identified with strikeout lines. 

The Osteopathic Medical Board of California hereby amends its regulations in Division 16 of 
Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to read as follows: 

1) Amend CCR Section 1635 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to 
read as follows: 

§1635. Required Continuing Medical Education (CME). 

(a) Each physician and surgeon submitting the tax and registration fee shall submit satisfactory 
proof to the Board of ongoing compliance with the provisions of this article at the times 
specified herein. 

(b) Commencing January 1, 1989, a Each physician and surgeon shall complete 150 100 hours 
within a three-year period during each two-year period immediately preceding the expiration 
date of his or her license in order to satisfy the CME requirement; this three two-year period is 
defined as the “CME requirement period.” 

(c) The requirement of 150 100 hours during the three two-year CME requirement period shall 
include a minimum of 60 40 hours of CME in Category 1-A or 1-B defined by the American 
Osteopathic Association (AOA). The balance of the CME requirement of 90 60 hours may 
consist of CME as defined by either the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) or the 
American Medical Association (AMA) and may shall be completed within the entire three two-
year CME requirement period. 

(d) Effective January 1, 1989, the three-year CME period shall commence for those licensed on 
or before January 1, 1989. Those licensed subsequent to January 1, 19892018 shall commence 
their three two-year CME requirement period on a prorata basis commencing the first full 
calendar year subsequent to initial licensure. Subsequent three two-year periods shall not 
include CME earned during a preceding three two-year requirement period. 

(e) Category 1-A, or other CME is defined by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA), set 
forth in the American Osteopathic Association’s “Continuing Medical Education 2016-2018, 
Guide for Osteopathic Physicians, February 2016,” and is hereby incorporated by reference, and 
can be obtained from the AOA at 142 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611; it is published once 
every three years by the AOA most recently in February 20161992. CME Category 1 defined by 
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the American Medical Association is set forth in “The AMA Physician's Recognition Award 
Information Booklet and credit system," and is hereby incorporated by reference, and can be 
obtained from the American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610 
AMA Plaza, 330 N. Wabash Ave., Suite 39300, Chicago, IL 60611-5885; it is published on an 
occasional basis by the AMA, most recently in January, 19862017. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Section 1; and 
Sections 2454.5 and 3600-1, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 2454.5, 
Business and Professions Code. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1; 
3600-1, 2454.5, and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 2454.5 of 
Business and Professions Code. 

2) Amend CCR Section 1636 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to 
read as follows: 

§1636. Continuing Medical Education Progress Report Documentation. 

Physicians shall report the total number of continuing medical education (CME) hours to the 
Board with the renewal application. This may be accomplished by: 

(a) The physician sending the Board a copy of their computer printout of CME activity as 
compiled from documents submitted to the AOA Division of Continuing Medical Education by 
both sponsors and the physician (Individual Activity Report) which will list the amount of CME 
credit hours, or 

(b) Sending the Board copies of any certificates given for the CME credit hours of attendance at 
any program approved by the Board, or 

(c) Reports from any program approved by the Board, to be furnished by the physician, showing 
his CME credit hours of attendance hours as verified by the program organizer. 

(d) CME categories are defined by Section 1635(e). 

(a) Effective January 1, 2019, each physician and surgeon shall self-certify completion of the 
required CME hours by submitting to the Board a completed Osteopathic Medical Board of 
California Continuing Medical Education (CME) Self-Certification Form for Renewal (OMB-21, 
Rev. 1/2019), which is hereby incorporated by reference. Physicians and surgeons submitting 
incomplete forms shall be deemed ineligible for renewal. 
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(b) Effective January 1, 2019, physicians and surgeons shall be subject to audit of their CME 
hours. Each physician and surgeon shall retain for six years all documents that demonstrate 
compliance with CME requirements. Those physicians and surgeons selected for audit shall be 
required to submit documentation of their compliance with the CME requirements as specified 
by this article. Documents demonstrating compliance include: 

(1) A copy of their computer printout of CME activity as compiled from documents submitted to 
the AOA Division of Continuing Medical Education by both sponsors and the physician and 
surgeon (Individual Activity Report) which will list the amount of CME credit hours, or 

(2) Copies of any certificates indicating the title of the course/program attended and CME credit 
hours and dates of attendance at any program approved by the Board, or 

(3) Reports from any program approved by the Board, to be furnished by the physician and 
surgeon, showing his or her CME credit hours and dates of attendance as verified by the 
program organizer or sponsoring organization. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Section 1; and 
Section 3600-1, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2190 and 2452, Business 
and Professions Code. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1, 
3600-1 and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 2452 and 2454.5 of 
Business and Professions Code. 

3) Amend CCR Section 1641 of Division 16 of Title 16 of the California Code of Regulations to 
read as follows: 

§1641. Sanctions for Noncompliance. 

(a) Any physician and surgeon who has not completed 150 100 hours of approved CME or the 
prorated share pursuant to Section 1635(d) during the three two-year CME requirement period 
will be required to make up any deficiency unless a waiver is obtained pursuant to Section 
1637. Any physician and surgeon who fails to complete the deficient hours shall be ineligible for 
renewal of his or her license to practice medicine until such time as the deficient hours of CME 
are documented to the Board. 

(b) It shall constitute unprofessional conduct and grounds for a citation and fine or disciplinary 
action including the filing of an accusation, for any physician and surgeon to misrepresent his or 
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her compliance with the provisions of this article or who fails to comply with the provisions of 
this article. 

(c) Each physician shall retain records for a minimum of four years of all CME programs 
attended which indicate the title of the course or program attended, dates of attendance, the 
length of the course or program, the sponsoring organization and the accrediting organization, 
if any. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Medical Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), 
Section 1; and Sections 2454.5 and 3600-1, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
2454.5, Business and Professions Code. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Osteopathic Act (Initiative Measure, Stats. 1923, p. xciii), Sections 1; 
Section 3600-1, 2454.5, and 2018, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 2454.5 of 
Business and Professions Code. 
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