## BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • OSTEOPATHIC MEDICAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA 1300 National Drive, Suite 150, Sacramento, CA 95834 P (916) 928-8390 | F (916) 928-8392 | www.ombc.ca.gov



## New Legislation Makes Immediate Changes to Certain Licensure Deadlines

The Osteopathic Medical Board of California (Board) is pleased to share that on September 13, 2023, Governor Newsom signed <u>Senate Bill 143</u>, which makes the following changes that are <u>now in effect</u>:

- Extends the expiration date of Postgraduate Training Licenses (PTL) that expire after June 1, 2023, and before December 31, 2023, to March 31, 2024. These PTL holders do not have to take any action. The Board will automatically change their expiration dates.
- Provides residents who completed the board-approved postgraduate training out-of-state required for licensure and are enrolled in a California ACGME-accredited program more time to obtain a Physician's and Surgeon's (P&S) license, under Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 2065(g).
  - Under the new law, these applicants have a total of **180 days** from the date they begin their training program to obtain a P&S (under the prior law they had 90 days from their enrollment date).
- States that residents must obtain a PTL within 180 days from beginning a California board-approved postgraduate training program rather than from the date of enrollment, as required under BPC section 2064.5(a).

Questions related to applicants and licensees of the <u>Osteopathic Medical Board of California</u> should be directed to <u>OMBC.Applications@dca.ca.gov</u> or <u>Dina.Ruprecht@dca.ca.gov</u>.

Questions regarding these law changes for applicants and licensees of the Board may be directed to <u>licensing.questions@mbc.ca.gov</u>.