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SB 798 Postgraduate Training License Changes Effective January 1, 2020
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

POSTGRADUATE TRAINING LICENSE (Business and Professions Code Section 2064.5)

Q: Who is required to obtain a Postgraduate Training License?

A: Any Osteopathic Medical School graduate who is accepted into an American Osteopathic
Association (AOA) accredited or Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
accredited postgraduate training program in California and has not already completed 36 months of their
residency by January 1, 2020 and does not already have full licensure.

Scenarios of who is required to obtain a Postgraduate Training License

Scenario #1: First year residents who enroll in their residency program after January 1, 2020.
A: These residents will be subject to the new law and be required to apply for a Postgraduate Training
License within 180 days of beginning their residency program.

Scenario #2: First year residents who enroll in their residency program July 2019.
A: These residents will be subject to the new law on January 1, 2020 and be required to obtain a
Postgraduate Training License between January 1, 2020 through June 30, 2020.

Scenario #3: Out of state residents enrolled in a California residency program must apply for a
postgraduate training license if they have not completed 36 months or postgraduate training or
hold a full, unrestricted, active license in another state (training licenses not accepted).

A: These residents must apply for a postgraduate training license within 180 days of the beginning of
their residency.

Scenario #4: Residents who have completed 1-2 years of residency out of state, who are enrolled in
a California postgraduate residency program after January 1, 2020?

A: These residents will be subject to the new law and be required to obtain a Postgraduate Training
License from the Board within 180 days of beginning the California residency in order to practice
medicine in their residency program. The duration of the license will depend on the length of their
residency program.

A: If they are doing a rotation that lasts several months and ends and they go out of state for another
rotation, then the license will end when their residency ends.

A: If they have already completed one year of residency and they intend to complete the remaining two
years of residency in California, then their license will last 24 months plus a 90 day grace period.



A: If they have completed two years and are enrolled in a 1 year residency program in California for
their third year, their license will last 12 months plus 90 days grace period.

A: If they do not intend to practice in California, residents seeking to attend a residency program in
California will only be required to have a Postgraduate Training License for the duration in which they
are practicing medicine within the California residency, which could be less than the required 36
months.

Scenario #5: Are specialty residents that are required to complete more than 36 months of
residency training required to obtain a Postgraduate Training License?

A: Yes, they are required to complete a minimum of 36 months of residency before they become eligible
to apply for full licensure in order to continue their residency training in California. Example: A
specialty that requires 4 or more years of residency training would be required to obtain a Postgraduate
Training License for the duration until they have completed 36 months of residency training, after which
they will be required to obtain full licensure within 90 days after the completion of 36 months of
residency. The full licensure is required to continue practicing medicine beyond 36 months within a
California residency training program. They must still meet all of the licensure requirements such as
passage of COMLEX levels 2 P.E. and 3 and a certificate of completion for the 36 months of residency
completed.

Q: What is the cost of applying for a Postgraduate Training License?
A: There is a non-refundable application and processing fee of $491 and $49 fee for fingerprint process
for a total of $540. Both fees are non-refundable. This fee must be submitted with the application.

Q: When should an applicant apply for their Postgraduate Training License?

A: Applicants may apply for their Postgraduate Training License as soon as they have graduated from
medical school, completed COMLEX Level 1 and received confirmation of acceptance into an AOA or
ACGME accredited California program. The licensure process can take up to 6 months to complete.
Applicants should not apply for a PTL prior to graduating from osteopathic medical school, only
postgraduation applications will be accepted.

Q: What documents are required to apply for a Postgraduate Training License?

A: The same documents as required for full licensure with the exception of the COMLEX Levels 2 and
3 scores and documentation of completion of 36 months residency program. Documents required
include completed application; copy of diploma, COMLEX Level 1, certified transcripts, finger print
clearance; form completed and submitted by residency program confirming acceptance in residency
program, non-refundable application and processing fee.

Q: What if my residency program is for more than 36 months?

A: Once you have completed the 36 months in the residency program, you have 90 days to obtain a full
license to continue in your residency program. If you do not obtain a full license within 90 days, you
will be required to cease the practice of medicine within your residency program until such time as you
are licensed by the Board.

Q: When will a trainee be required to have the Postgraduate Training License issued?

A: The trainee must obtain a Postgraduate Training License within 180 days after enrollment in an AOA
or ACGME accredited postgraduate training program. PTL applicants who fail to obtain a PTL license
within 180 days will have to cease all practice within their residency until such time as they are issued a
PTL license. It is the responsibility of applicants to submit their applications in a timely manner.
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Q: Are residents doing a short rotation in California required to obtain a Postgraduate Training
License?

A: Yes, even for rotations as short as 3-6 weeks, residents must obtain a Postgraduate Training License
to participate in the rotation. There is no guest license.

Q: How much will the Postgraduate Training License cost?

A: The total non-refundable application and processing fee is $540, which includes $491 non-refundable
application and processing fee and a non-refundable $49 for mandatory finger print clearance fee. The
fee is the same regardless of the length of the residency program.

Q: How long is a Postgraduate Training License valid?

A: The Postgraduate Training License is valid for a total of 39 months. This allows an applicant the
opportunity to complete the required 36 months of postgraduate training with an additional 90 day grace
period to obtain a full and unrestricted license. The license can be for less time depending on the length
of the residency program or rotation.

Q: Is the Postgraduate Training License renewable?
A: No. It is only valid for up to 39 months, which includes the grace period.

Q: Are there circumstances that can change how long a Postgraduate Training License is valid?
A: Generally, the Postgraduate Training License is valid for a total of 39 months. However, there are
circumstances that can change the length of the license. For example, if an applicant completes an AOA
or ACGME accredited internship or transitional year out of state and applies for a postgraduate training
license, the length of the training license will be adjusted based on the amount of credit granted and the
length of the residency in California. It may also be adjusted for program status changes, such as a leave
of absence.

Q: What happens if residents transfer from one residency program to another?

A: After January 1, 2020 residents may transfer to another residency program, but they are subject to the
new licensure requirements that require residents to obtain a Postgraduate Training License. Residents
that transfer from other programs must consider the new law that requires residents to complete 24
months of the required 36 months of training at the same residency program. This would only apply if
residents intend to apply for California licensure upon completion of their 36 months of residency.

Q: What happens if a resident has transferred to multiple programs and has not completed 24
months at the same residency program?

A: If residents have not completed at least 24 months in the same postgraduate training program during
their 36 months of residency training, they will not be eligible for California licensure. Their only
option is to become licensed in another state and later apply for licensure in California as a reciprocity
applicant.

Q: Will an applicant be issued any proof that they possess a Postgraduate Training License, and
will it be made public?

A: Yes, a postgraduate training licensee will be issued a pocket card which will identify that the
intern/resident holds an approved Postgraduate Training License. Additionally, the Postgraduate
Training License will be searchable under the license search tab displayed on the Board’s website under
the license look-up tab.



Q: Is a resident issued a Postgraduate Training License subject to discipline by the Osteopathic
Medical Board?

A: Yes. Under the new law, the Board has authority to discipline residents holding a Postgraduate
Training License.

Q: Can the Board deny residents a Postgraduate Training License?

A: Yes. The Board may deny applicants a Postgraduate Training License if they fail to meet all of the
requirements, are guilty of unprofessional conduct or any cause that would otherwise subject a licensee
to revocation or suspension of his or her license.

Q: Can a Postgraduate Training License be issued a license while on probation or be disciplined?
A: Yes, a trainee can be issued a Postgraduate Training License that is subject to the terms and
conditions of probation. A Postgraduate Training License is subject to the same disciplinary process as
a full and unrestricted license.

TIPS FOR APPLYING FOR LICENSURE

First tip is to download and read the application instructions from the Board’s website before
applying.

Q: How do I apply?
A: There two ways to apply: manually and online.

Manually. Applicants must download all of the PTL forms, complete them and submit them by mail
with a check or money order.

Online. Go to the Board’s website and click on the “Breeze” button to be redirected to the online
application. Applicants choosing to submit their application online are required to create a “Breeze”
account and input application details online and pay online with a credit card. The only online form is
the application form OMB.22. The rest of the required forms must be downloaded from the Board’s
website and mailed to the Board. Since the application form OMB.22 requires the applicant sign the
application, attesting to the truth and accuracy of the information provided under penalty of perjury, a
notary form is downloadable and must be signed by the applicant in the presence of a notary and mailed
to the Board along with the online summary. The application is not completed without the Board
receiving this notary form by mail.

Online applicants are still required download the other required forms which are only available from the
Board’s website. The program enrollment form OMB.23 is downloadable and must be completed and
notarized by the residency training program, not the applicant, and mailed directly to the Board. The
Board accepts online notary services from Notary Cam, which can be found at the following link:
https://www.notarycam.com/ .

The email you provide to the Board must be spam proof. This can be achieved by adding the
Osteopathic Medical Board to your contacts so our emails will be recognized by your email provider.

Q: What happens if my required documents are sent to the Medical Boards of California instead
of the Osteopathic Medical Board of California?

A: All required documents must be addressed to the Osteopathic Medical Board of California and be
sent directly to the Osteopathic Medical Board of California. Any documents sent to other than the
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Board will not be accepted. Please make sure when you make the request for exam scores, transcripts,
license verifications that you provide them with the correct address: Osteopathic Medical Board of
California, 1300 National Drive Suite 150, Sacramento, CA 95834.

Q: Can I submit digital photos?
A: No. only passport quality photographs are accepted. Not providing the correct photos will delay the
processing of your application.

Q: Can I submit a digital signature to sign my application that is notarized?
A: No. Your signature must be an original wet signature only unless you use the online services of
Notary Cam. No other format is accepted.

Q: Do I have to have a notary present when I sign my application?

A: Yes. A notary must be present when you sign your application. If you applied online, you must bring
the online summary with you to the notary to show what you are attesting to the truth and accuracy of
the information listed in the online summary under penalty of perjury. The notary form is what you and
the notary sign that you must then mail to the Board. Without the completed notary form accompanied
by the online summary, your application is not complete and cannot be processed.

Q: Can I complete and sign my application prior to graduating from Osteopathic Medical School?
A: No. When you sign your application, you are attesting under penalty of perjury that you have
completed your Osteopathic Medical education prior to actually completing it.

Q: Can I submit my copy of my transcript?

A: No. original source documentation is required. Only the school you attended can provide original
source certified documentation of your attendance and completion of all requirements. Please specify
that the transcripts be sent directly to Osteopathic Medical Board of California or they will be rejected.

Q: Can I submit my copy of my exam scores?

A: No. Original source documentation is required. Only NBOME can provide certification of your exam
scores. Please specify that the exam scores be sent directly to Osteopathic Medical Board of California
or they will be rejected.

Q: Do I have to pay the fee when I submit my application?

A: Yes. The Board will return an application to an applicant that is not accompanied by the correct fee
amount. Checks and money orders must be made payable to: Osteopathic Medical Board of California
or OMBC. The application fee is non-refundable.

Q: Under what circumstances would the Board return my application to me?
A: The application was incomplete and missing required information or you did not pay the appropriate
fee. Please make sure you complete all of the information.

Q: Can I pay a fee to have my license application expedited?

A: No. The Board reviews applications in the order in which they are received. You cannot pay a fee to
expedite the review of your application. When deciding when to apply, please allow sufficient time for
all your documents to be received and reviewed by the Board, particularly if you have a deadline for
licensure or the issuance of a PTL.



Q: What are the time frames for getting licensed?

A: To be considered an applicant, you must submit both the application and the application fee. All
application forms and supporting materials are stamped with the date and time they are received in the
office. Incomplete applications will be returned to applicant to resubmit a completed application. Once a
complete application and the application fee have been received, the application is reviewed for
completeness. After the initial review is completed, the applicant is notified in writing of the application
status and given an itemized list of documents needed to complete the file. It is the applicant's
responsibility to ensure that any missing documents are sent to the Board. These subsequent documents
also will be reviewed in order of receipt. The length of time it takes to obtain a license is related to how
long it takes for all required documents to be received at the Board. Once the application is complete
and approved, a license will be issued promptly.

Q: How will you know if there are missing documents or other issues with my application?
A: You will be notified if there are any missing documents or issues with your application once the
application is reviewed. You will receive a deficiency letter from the Board.

Q: If I apply online, do I still have to mail in the signed and notarized form with my photos and
my application summary as proof of application?

A: Yes. You must download the notary form, print the summary of your online application and bring it
with you to when you sign the form in the presence of a notary. Then, mail both the application
summary and the completed notary form along with the passport quality photos to the Board.

Q: Can you call or email Board staff if I have questions or want to check on my application
status?

A: You may call or email your analyst. Calls and emails are returned in the order received and will most
likely take one or more days before they are returned due to the high volume of calls and emails
received. Please be patient and do not leave multiple messages regarding the same issue. In addition,
please note that the Board’s analysts have a heavy application work load and each call or email takes
away from time available to review applications and documents. You will be notified if there are any
missing documents or issues with your application.

Q: How long do I have to complete the application process?

A: You have one year from the date the application was received by the Board to complete your
application. Applications incomplete after 1 year are considered “abandoned” and may be destroyed
(including all supporting documentation). If your previous application was abandoned, any subsequent
application will be treated as a new application and you will be required to meet all licensure
requirements in effect at the time of the subsequent application. You must also resubmit all required
documentation (including new fingerprints) and pay the application fee.

Q: How long will it take to receive my pocket license once issued?
A: Please allow 2-4 weeks from the date of issuance to receive your pocket identification card.

TRANSITION FROM POSTGRADUATE TRAINING LICENSE TO FULL AND
UNRESTRICTED LICENSURE

Q: What is the next step once a Postgraduate Training Licensee meets the 36 month postgraduate
training requirement?



A: The applicant, who is a holder of a Postgraduate Training License, applying for a full license is only
eligible if they complete a minimum of 36 months residency. Upon completion of 36 months of
residency, the applicant will need to submit the following: a Postgraduate Training License to
Physician’s and Surgeon’s Certificate Application OMB.1 form with the required licensing fees, an
updated NBOME Transcript of Scores confirming a passing score on COMLEX levels 2 and 3, and a
Certificate of Completion of AOA or ACGME Postgraduate Training form OMB.25 from the all
residency programs attended and completed and notarized. Training programs may use online notary
services if needed from Notary Cam at https://www.notarycam.com/.

Q: What is the application fee to apply for a full license?
A: The application fee is a non-refundable fee of $249, which includes $200 application and processing
fee and $49.

Q: What is the license fee amount?

A: In addition to the application fees, the license fees charged include a pro-rated license fee plus a $25
required Stephen M. Thompson Medically Underserved fee that funds scholarships. The license fee will
be charged once your license application is complete. The amount of the prorated license fee will vary
based on when issued and the applicants birth month. The purpose of the prorated fee is to issue a
license initially not less than 12 months and not more than 24 months so their license expires on their
birth month. Then after their license expires every two years on their birth month.

POSTGRADUATE TRAINING REQUIRED FOR A FULL AND UNRESTRICTED LICENSE

Q: How many years of postgraduate training are needed to qualify for licensure in California?

A: To qualify for licensure in California, an applicant must have completed 36 months of AOA or
ACGME accredited training. It is required that a trainee complete at least 24 consecutive months in the
same training program.

A: However, if an applicant holds an unlimited license as a physician and surgeon in other state(s), he or
she is be eligible for licensure.

Q: What happens if an out of state resident has a job beginning July 1% a few days after they
completed their 36 months of postgraduate training: can they obtain that license in time for their
job?

A: No. They are not eligible to apply for licensure in California until after they have completed their 36
months of postgraduate training. Job applicants must allow up to six months between the time their
complete their 36 months of postgraduate training and when a start date for a job. Applicants must
negotiate a later start date allowing time to be licensed. There is no expedited licensing process.

Q: What happens if an out of state resident is in their third year of postgraduate residency out of
state and they are enrolled in a residency or fellowship in California July 15?

A: They will be ineligible to apply for a full license in California until after they complete their 36
months of postgraduate training. So, they must apply for a Postgraduate Training License during their
third year in residency once they receive enrollment confirmation from the California training program.
The California training program must complete the Postgraduate Training License Enrollment form
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OMB.23. As long as they apply for this Postgraduate Training License, this will allow them to be
effectively licensed for their residency training in California until they obtain their full, unrestricted
license in California. Once the applicant has completed their 36 months of residency, 24 months of
which was completed in the same residency program, they are eligible to apply for a full license in
California.

PROGRAM DIRECTOR INFORMATION

Q: When is a trainee required to obtain a Postgraduate Training License?
A: A trainee must obtain a Postgraduate Training License within 180 days after enrollment in a Board-
approved postgraduate training program.

Q: What role does the residency training program have in their residents applying for a
postgraduate training license?

A: The program must download the Postgraduate Training License Enrollment form OMB.23 from the
Board’s website, complete it with a photo of applicant attached and the program seal affixed, or program
director’s signature notarized that is mailed directly to the Board.

A: The program director must also download the Postgraduate Training Program Update form OMB.24
documenting any changes in status of the trainee within 30 days and mail directly to the Board.

A: The program director must download the Postgraduate Training Program Certification form OMB.
25 from the Board’s website, complete it and sign it with program seal affixed or notarized and mail
directly to the Board for each graduate of their training program.

Q: When is a trainee required to obtain a full and unrestricted Physician’s and Surgeon’s
certificate?

A: A trainee must obtain a full and unrestricted Physician’s and Surgeon’s certificate within 90 days of
completion of 36 months of postgraduate training to continue in a residency program or practice in
California.

Q: Is the program required to inform the Osteopathic Medical Board of California of any status
change for applicants enrolled in their programs?

A: Yes, programs will be required to provide the Board with a Program Status Update/Change form
downloadable on the Board’s website ww.ombc.ca.gov within 30 days of such actions (i.e. leave of
absence, probation, break in training, any rotations for which no credit was awarded, resignation or
termination.) This notice will allow the Board the opportunity to adjust the expiration date of an
individual training license accordingly or cancel the license if necessary.

Q: Can a trainee with a valid Postgraduate Training License moonlight?

A: The holder of a Postgraduate Training License may engage in the practice of medicine only in
connection with his or her duties as an intern or resident in a Board-approved postgraduate program,
including its affiliated sites, or under those conditions as approved in writing and maintained in the file,
by the director of his or her program. Accordingly, a holder of a Postgraduate Training License may
moonlight with written authorization from the program director.



Q: What happens if a resident changes residency programs each year, so they do not have 24
consecutive months in the same residency program?

A: Under the new law residents are required to complete 36 months, 24 months of those months at the
same residency program. If residents do not meet this requirement, they are ineligible for licensure in
California. Their only option is to be obtain a full, unrestricted license in another state (training license
is not accepted) and apply for reciprocity licensure in the future.

For more information, contact the Osteopathic Medical Board of California

Website: www.ombc.ca.gov
Email Inquires: osteopathic(@dca.ca.gov
Phone: (916) 928-8390

1300 National Drive, Suite 150
Sacramento, CA 95834
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